Being banned

So today I was banned from commenting on the Guardian site (which rather ironically is called “Comment is Free”!) I shouldn’t be surprised, it’s not the first time. But I’ve been assured that it will be the last.

The reason for my ban? Well, the moderators don’t actually provide you with a reason,  you just get faced with a “Commenting has been disabled for this account.” statement where the comment box should be. However, immediately prior to my ban I’d highlighted the large number of posts that were disappearing from the thread. And posted a link to a blogpost about overzealous moderation on other fora.

http://domain-name-lawyer.blogspot.co.uk/2009/09/forum-moderators-can-be-absolute-morons.html

Now, the headline of that blogpost is actually “Forum Moderators Can Be Overzealous” which was the point I was trying to make. Unfortunately I didn’t notice the URL was worded slightly differently until after I’d posted it. Oops! Still, an outright ban for that? Seems a tad harsh don’t you think?

Most of the posting I do on the Guardian is on their Tech site (or as it should probably be known, their iPhone site!) The Tech editor is rather obsessed with mobile tech, and in particular with the mobile tech of one particular company based in Cupertino. This leads to the site being massively skewed towards coverage of the iphone and ipad, and any coverage of the competition tends to be superficial and framed negatively.

Unsurprisingly, the editor gets called out for this on a regular basis in the comments, often in well structured, constructive manner. What is surprising, especially in a paper that’s founded and supposedly prides itself on liberal principles, is the way such criticism is dealt with. Multiple posts mysteriously disappear, sometimes with a stain: “This comment was removed by a moderator because it didn’t abide by our community standards. Replies may also be deleted. For more detail see our FAQs.”, but more commonly in recent times they just disappear altogether.

As I mentioned at the start, this isn’t the first time this has happened to me. Below is some of the email correspondence I’ve had with the “Community” team who manage the moderation.

This was the first lot, from last year:

From: beardyweirdy
To: community.suggestions@guardian.co.uk
Subject: Removal of premoderation
15/10/12 19:47

As raised in todays boot up column when this topic was being discussed, I would be grateful if you could
a) remove pre moderation and restore privileges to my account (Beardyweirdy666)
b) provide me with an explanation as to why my posts (particularly from Friday evening and into the weekend) were subject to such censorship
c) explain why I was placed under pre moderation and why posts I made since then have not been published.

I repeat my earlier point that I did not breach the community guidelines or otherwise “misbehave”.

—-

On 17 October 2012 16:57, <community.suggestions@guardian.co.uk> wrote:

Hi Beardyweirdy,
Thanks for getting in touch.

Initially you had a comment blocked for stating that the Guardian coverage of the iPhone 5 was influenced by preferential treatment, which we consider against our Community standards. Point 2 states that:

“2. We acknowledge criticism of the articles we publish, but will not allow persistent misrepresentation of the Guardian and our journalists to be published on our website. For the sake of robust debate, we will distinguish between constructive, focused argument and smear tactics.” (you can read the Community Standards here: http://www.guardian.co.uk/community-standards)

After that comment was removed you posted consistently about moderation, which as you know as a regular on the tech threads can severely derail a conversation away from the topic above the line. This gave us no choice but to place you into premoderation, point 8 of the Community Standards states that:

“8. Keep it relevant. We know that some conversations can be wide-ranging, but if you post something which is unrelated to the original topic (“off-topic”) then it may be removed, in order to keep the thread on track. This also applies to queries or comments about moderation, which should not be posted as comments.”

Premod is always temporary and we always restore full posting rights once we’ve seen you’re posting within the standards again, however you have attempted to create new accounts to get around moderation sanctions, which of course is also against our terms and conditions. If you can post without either accusing the Guardian or our writers of professional bias, or complaining about moderation then we can restore your account. Premoderated comments are usually looked at very quickly, often within a few minutes, though sometimes it can take longer. Please do continue to post as normal, and you’ll be back to full rights in no time.

Thanks
Marc
Community Moderator

—–
On 9 November 2012 11:17, e-mail beardyweirdy wrote:
Hello,
Following on from our earlier correspondence (below) my account was subsequently banned without explanation.

Subsequently, after a break, I set up a replacement account ‘LetThemEatStatic’. After using this account for a couple of weeks, it too has now been banned.

I take issue with this. I am sometimes critical of the editorial policy on the Guardian’s Tech section, but I do so in a respectful and considered manner, am careful to always label my opinions as such, or otherwise substantiate my arguments.

I do not believe that I was originally breaching the community guidelines and have had many posts deleted that do not seem to contravene them. You replied in your email to me that my post was deleted because I had ‘stated’ that a review was influenced by preferential treatment. I did not ‘state’ this, I suggested that it was possible and gave a link to an article from another journalist who described why this sometimes comes about and how the company in question are known to encourage positive press in this manner. I do not think it is a workable policy to prevent any discussion or challenge about the articles that are published – it should in fact be desirable to allow robust scrutiny of what is said in, surely this is one of the benefits in having and encouraging comments from readers?

I believe that you have been overly strict in your application of the community guidelines and I would respectfully ask that either one of the two accounts above is reinstated.

I do accept that I breached the guidelines in setting up duplicate accounts, however, I feel that I was left in a ‘Catch 22’ situation whereby it was the only avenue available to be able to continue to post. I understand the principle of using pre-moderation, but it appears to be unworkable in practice. The additional level of scrutiny appears to filter out completely innocuous posts that would not otherwise have been moderated, and furthermore the delays between posting and the post appearing are sometimes so long (several hours) that they effectively prevent any opportunity to engage in the debate. It then becomes rather self-defeating as there is no incentive to write intelligent, considered posts (that sometimes require some time to compose) if the likelihood is that they will either go unpublished or not be read due to appearing buried halfway through a long series of existing posts.

I apologise if I have inadvertently caused offence in any of my posts. I am a long-term (20 years+) reader of the Guardian and would like to continue to engage with you. Any challenges I have made are in fact driven by my loyalty to the paper and my desire to see it upholding the high standards I still believe it stands for. I would be grateful if you could advise me on how I can have one of my accounts reinstated, or if necessary a new one created.

Many thanks

After which, and a further period “on the naughty step” I was eventually allowed to repost.

More recently, I was banned again. This time for including the phrase “Very good” in a post It’s become something of a meme on the site following this review of the iphone 5 where Charles Arthur proudly declared:

The news in May that Google was sidelined as the provider of maps for the iPhone (in any phone that runs iOS 6, to be released later on Wednesday 19 September) caused a fair amount of hand-wringing and worry. Would it be as good? Or would it just use some in-between rubbish?

Don’t worry – it’s very good.

Immediately before people started trying to use it and hundreds of stories started to emerge about the poor quality of the mapping with misplaced towns and weird mapping effects.

That lead to this email exchange between me and my new friends in the moderation team:

On Friday, July 12, 2013 12:55:24 PM UTC+1, e-mail beardyweirdy wrote:
Hi,
I’ve just had commenting privileges disabled on my account ‘beardyweirdy666’.

Please can you explain why and let me know how to get them reinstated.

Many thanks

Jon
—-
On 13 July 2013 15:02, Community Suggestions <community….@guardian.co.uk> wrote:
Hi there,

You indulged in some repetitive mocking of an author. We have banned you for this before and only reinstated your account on the express understanding that you not fall back into that pattern.

Hope you understand.

Best,

Tom
Community Moderator.
—-
On Saturday, July 13, 2013 6:50:43 PM UTC+1, e-mail beardyweirdy wrote:
Hi Tom,
I appreciate you coming back to me, but I’m left rather confused by your response. I was most definitely not mocking the author, other posters were talking about posts being disappeared for simply containing the phrase ‘very good’, I was simply trying to establish whether or not this was the case as it seemed rather draconian and was not mentioned within your community guidelines. If I’ve caused offense to anybody then I’m genuinely sorry, but if I’m being completely honest I fail to see how my posts could be deemed offensive. Being banned seems like rather an over-reaction, especially given that the original complainants still appear to be posting without restriction.

If you would be kind enough to reinstate my account, I am happy to promise that I will refrain from ever using the phrase ‘very good’ ever again.

Yours
Jon
—-

On 14 July 2013 14:49, Community Suggestions <community.suggestions@guardian.co.uk> wrote:
Hi there,

The phrase ‘Don’t worry, it’s very good’ has been used to suggest that Charles Arthur is heavily biased. You know this. You were sanctioned above the other users because: you initiated the suggestions of bias, proceeded to spam the thread with variations on it, and have been banned previously for doing the same.

You are a welcome and informed contributor to the Tech section, and we certainly have no problem with you criticising the content of articles, but we won’t allow this to snowball into sustained attacks on authors.

In this case we are prepared to offer a last, last, last, last chance before a complete final ban. A month in pre-mod. That’s the best you’ll get.

Regards,

Tom
Community Moderator

And now I’m guessing I’ve crossed that “last, last, last, last chance”.

I stand by my view that the Guardian Tech site shows extreme bias towards one tech company. This is unhealthy. It’s not about “hating on Apple” as any dissent is often dismissed by their diehard fans, it’s about wanting to see fair and balanced journalism in a newspaper I’ve read and believed in since I was a teenager. Sadly I can no longer respect or recommend the paper.

By way of illustration, Samsung (the world’s biggest manufacturer of smartphones) recently launched their new flagship phone, the Galaxy Note 3. It got half an article (it was shared with coverage of their new tablet) from a press agency. Apple launched their new iphone models last week and there have been at least 37 articles on them to date. Including this one published yesterday which would be hard to distinguish as anything but advertising copy (admittedly poorly worded advertising copy). They’ve even mimicked the Apple advertising style for the layout and fonts etc.

So, perhaps it’s just as well that I’ve been banned. I’ve only stayed for the community: some very clever, informed, funny and interesting people frequent the comments sections, some of whom I’d consider like friends. The ‘journalism’ on display in the tech section is generally very poor, overly reliant on opinion from a narrow pool of like-minded writers and ‘analysts’, and often demonstrating lack of knowledge and distinct bias. Unfortunately it’s ended up clouding my impression of the paper as a whole, and that’s rather sad.

partingpost

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

50 Responses to Being banned

  1. Cuse says:

    You’ll be missed, friend. I echo every single letter, word and sentiment of this eloquent blog.

  2. pedgington says:

    Agree 100%. It appears to go up another notch with each new apple release and you would have thought that someone higher up at the guardian would have looked at the recent iGasm and told him to tone it down a bit. As I said in one of my posts yesterday (that amazingly avoided moderation, possibly because I mentioned no names, though it was in a thread about CA) I don’t mind people showing bias but I do mind people showing bias but claiming they are not and CA is the most extreme example I know of that.

    • Thanks Pedginton. It really does seem to have gone beyond a joke. It sounds silly, but it’s almost as if he’s testing just how far he can push it, like a naughty child testing their parents’ breaking point.

  3. TehGreatGonzo says:

    If only there were a WordPress site, or similar, that regular contributors to Teh Grauniad tech section had seen a link to, that would allow the unmoderated (within reason) discussion of developments in tech…

    Hmmmm.

  4. Micky Nozawa says:

    Very good.

    The mods are complete arses and very inconsistent.

    ‘ClarkeViper’

    • Agree completely Clarke/Micky. It’s funny how they seem unaware of the adjective use of the word ‘moderate’ which presumably pre-dates the verb.

      • I actually set up wordpress blog for banned/moderated with extreme prejudice GU football commenters (see, I have other interests!) that has now been running for well over 3 years. Still about 30 of the original 50 joiners comment daily and over a million comments.

        Plus, a bunch of us are meeting for beers in London tomorrow.

  5. And here was my favourite post, that’s somehow remained unmolested for nearly a year, Can you crack the coded message I left? (you won’t need an enigma machine)

    http://discussion.theguardian.com/comment-permalink/19338454

  6. StephenJPC says:

    Recent moderation has gone beyond bizarre, and is most unpleasant. It’s all totally at odds with the traditional values of the Guardian.

    You’ll be missed, for sure. It’s the BTL discussions that make the tech section, not the churn of advertorial above it. I took a couple of days off because of the obsessive reporting on the iPhone, maybe I’ll call it a day too now.

    • Thanks Stephen. I wonder whether we should follow ClarkeViper’s football lead and have a parallel discussion elsewhere? I’d like to keep chatting to the usual regulars, but obviously that’s no longer possible in the official forum.

      Happy to use this site as a start if anybody’s interested. This is the first time I’ve set up a blog on WordPress though, so I may not have it done correctly and there may be a better method for hosting discussion.

      As a start, I’ve added a new post with a link to BootUp. It will require a bit of subversive promotion BTL to get any more engagement though.

      • StephenJPC says:

        I’ll certainly give it a go and post here rather than at the Guardian for a while. Let’s hope Avro finds his way over here though, it won’t be half as much fun without a few partisan posts.

      • Hehe. Indeed. It’s the mix of views that makes a conversation interesting. The defensive approach of the mods makes me think they don’t really have confidence in what they’re doing. A bolder site which was happy and proud of its content wouldn’t feel the need to stifle any criticism, they’d let the quality of their work stand on its own merit.

      • TehGreatGonzo says:

        I think this site is as good a place as any, or maybe register bootedout.wordpress.com (it’s available, I just checked :-p ).

        With regards to setting up the blog it looks fine to me, article at top, nested comments underneath. Two thoughts:
        1) Would Mr Viper be so kind as to share some configuration details from his football site to check configuration here against?
        2) I posted as me by just giving an email address, how easy is it currently to spoof another username? If we all register WordPress accounts does that prevent other people posting under someone elses name? I can’t really imagine it being a problem as I think we have better things to do than misrepresent each other, but just in case…

        Also, I pretty much gave up on link suggestions on The Graun because they just wanted to talk about phones, but there’s no reason to restrict discussion to their links.

      • Thanks Gonzo. Good points.

        I do get to approve users before their comments appear, perhaps there’s a way of sending a message via a Bootup comment to verify identity (first and third letters of email address?) so I’d know you were who you said you were.

        The idea of a non-personal blog section (I like your BootedOut !) probably makes more sense. It would be ideal if a few of us could share admin too (to stop me going all Animal Farm).

        However, it may not be viable. I don’t know if the other comments were from single visit users, but it looks as though it may just be you, me and StephenJPC who have hung around. Whilst I’m hugely grateful for the support we’ll need at least a few others to make this worthwhile. And the mods seem to be particularly vigilant atm, which would hamper raising awareness of this blog.

      • Maybe I spoke too soon. I see that both @Uncollective and @Cuse are around too. It’s a veritable party!
        So what do other people think about Gonzo’s comments?

  7. StephenJPC says:

    It would inspire more confidence if the mods applied the same standards to the comments posted BTL by their journalists. I managed to provoke this response from Charles that should certainly have been pulled as an ad hominem.

  8. Cuse says:

    You had me at “So…”

    • I knew I could count on you @cuse. Btw what got you put into pre-moderation? Do you know?

      • Cuse says:

        The pre-mod? Haven’t the foggiest. The policy has got utterly confused and I can’t recall the single comment that led to it. My more cynical side believes it was a pre-emptive attempt to limit the “Charles, why all the iPhone stuff” offenders. My more sensitive side believes Charles moderates his own posts and rather than his usual way of defending himself in the threads has stopped commenting and now just deletes. Either way, is all a bit silly from the Guardian.

        I constantly call out Main Kettle on his politics and have never once been modded there. Ask Charles to review an Android phone and you get banned for life.

        Says a lot, doesn’t it?

  9. mrbeardy says:

    Sorry to hear all that, it has got rather absurd recently. I stopped reading some “journalists” articles long ago and would go straight to the comments as they tended to be vastly more revealing and informative than the article itself. They really ought to be embarassed.

    Parallel discussion elsewhere sounds like a good idea to me! Make sure its somewhere 64bit and freshly painted neon so we don’t feel too far from where we started 😉

    • Welcome MrBeardy! Come and join the fun!
      So, I’ve followed Gonzo’s advice and registered BootedOut.wordpress.com
      There’s nothing currently there, but I’ll try to set it up (just something simple) this weekend. It’s worth a try at least. Any suggestions for managing shared admin?

      • uncollective says:

        I am tempted to suggest it should go dark for a while and possibly chose another name.
        Start it off by populating it with some pro apple stuff and then stick some links in boot up comments. Get the tone right and sooner or later Charles will select it, voila free above the line advertising at which point the other posts can come out.

      • mrbeardy says:

        Sure I will help out if i can, Im not sure in what capacity as I dont really have any previous experience in blogs. Ive got a wordpress for my band, but the other lads post more than i would. You can email me at *******. If possible could you delete this post after you get my mail, I dont really want it too public!

      • Thanks MrBeardy. I need to think about how best to do this. It’s all been rather sudden and unplanned. I appreciate yours and others offers of help.

      • mrbeardy13 says:

        Dunno if that worked, so ive set up an account.

      • Sorry, I should have said. It worked fine. I edited out your email address that’s all

      • TehGreatGonzo says:

        I don’t mind helping out with yet-to-be-defined-stuff. Drop me a mail at the address I use for comments 🙂

  10. kperson says:

    A relatively rare poster, but avid reader. Sad to see you go. The Guardian Tech section is a joke. I suggest we boycott it.

  11. kperson says:

    i’m up for an alternative blog. Where’s rubbernuke to post the links?

    Ps, I see my previous comment is awaiting moderation, is this because of any propensity to WP8?

  12. StephenJPC says:

    Jon, if you need any assistance with Booted Out, feel free to send me an email.

  13. Simon says:

    I’ve been put on pre-mod so just won’t comment any more. I work in the tech industry and have plenty of sources for the proper tech news but it was just nice to have everything on one website when I’m lazy browsing. The whole of the Guardian is turning into click bait though, publish your article as quickly as possible don’t provide balance, play to tribalism, there is no honour in Guardian succeeding like this, there is no real point in the Guardian lasting through playing this game. Better to burn out and all that. I got pre-moderated for offering to moderate the Tech editors articles prior to them being published so that he wouldn’t have to be called out so often for not understanding technology, I said I would do it for 5% of his salary, they should really have taken me up on that offer especially after his 64bit opus.

    Mr Arthur’s attacks in the comment section against people who rightly questioned him and pointed out perfectly politely his technical mistakes always made me feel uneasy and a little angry.

    I’m sure your comments will be missed over there, I won’t be having a look there myself anymore.

    Signed out warmerwherewewere

    • Thanks for the support Simon. I thought you’d been posting much less recently, now I understand why. Heavy handed moderation ends up just being counterproductive imho. A healthy site would welcome criticism and expert opinion, and use it to improve its offering. Instead we got defensiveness and censorship.

  14. Laidinbed says:

    Dammit, one of the few people with well structured comments, the mods are getting a bit silly with the over zealous deleting of posts. I know the feeling of being banned, all I do on the pages is have a moan now, although I could start annoying the crap out of Charles on twitter.

    • Thanks for the kind words @laidinbed. It’s silly really cos it’s only a tech site, but the community is a great one and it’s such a shame to see it not only squandered but stifled.

      • Laidinbed says:

        Word! (thats word! as in eighties black dude agreeing with said comment (think Chuck D from Public Enemy))
        would be interesting to see if a parallel comments could be worked here? hmmmm.

  15. Well I’m in, would have said so earlier but a few hours of GTA got in the way…

    Anyway, a lot of Guardian tech posts have gone to shit recently. An ex-Apple employee arguing the iPhone 5C is great because you can pay the $500+ in installments – apparently claiming Apple have invented the payment plan now, as well as a lot of dodgy information in that article.

    100 articles have been tagged under Apple since 29th August, if you go back 100 articles on the Android page you get to 13th June and Microsoft 1st August. Then there’s the subject of those articles – most of the Android ones are barely Android related, others include that ‘Keep it Simple’ one, and for some reason, one on how the iOS update doubled internet traffic

    ImKieran (long time lurker, recentish commenter)

  16. pedgington says:

    I am very tempted to put the following on bootup come Monday:

    Dear Charles, as you may be aware there are some people who believe your coverage of various tech topics is not as balanced as would be expected from a newspaper such as the Guardian.

    If you wish to discuss this in an adult manner select ‘reply’, if you do not then select ‘report’.

  17. pedgington says:

    While I am at it I was in a diatribe mood so sent this, more in hope than expectation, to the guardians readers editor. I think I better lay down now!!!

    Dear Mr Elliott,

    I know this was covered in 2012 at the last iPhone launch but since then I am sad to say that the pro-apple coverage of the guardians technology pages has become even more pronounced (something that many thought not possible!) to the point that it is now more than vaguely comical. It is most definitely not in keeping with a paper that has made a big deal of both wikileaks, the snowdon affair as whilst campaigning for openness on those fronts the tech comment pages have been subject to a level of censorship that would made many a repressive government proud!

    Specifically my concerns are:

    Coverage of the iPhone and the iOs7 release have been excessive, both before, during and after these events. This has been noticeably increased since the last release despite apple’s share of the global smartphone market shrinking significantly. But don’t take my word for it, this site http://journalisted.com/charles-arthur#tab-work confirms that Charles Arthur has written more about Apple that any other journalist.

    Coverage has been almost unquestionably positive and, in some cases, has come so close to being advertisements for apple products as to be almost indistinguishable for apples own publicity departments efforts.

    In the same vein coverage of android and google as been almost uniformly negative. I am sure you will be pointed towards a few sacrificial lambs of positiveness but look at them all in their entirety and it is difficult not to come to the conclusion that the tech section output, and Charles Arthurs articles in particular. carries some almost irrational hatred for Google and Android.

    In the same way that coverage of Apples releases is excessive the coverage of releases by other companies is minimal. Other companies releases appear to fall into 2 categories. Samsung and the rest. For samsung releases it is hard to ignore that they have happened so instead of a review by a member of staff we are usually fed a short agency piece, as if providing it is done under duress and only so it can be later claimed ‘it has been covered’. At least Samsung are given that honour as other companies have their products ignored completely. The key example of this I feel is HTC. Look at any (well except the guardian) tech site and you will see that the HTC One is rated as possibly the best smartphone currently available and has sold many millions (I wish I could afford one). Earlier this year HTC released the HTC One Mini, a downsized version aimed at the midmarket that kept at lot of the better points of the HTC One and has been well received (on other tech sites) and identified as competing with the iPhone 4S for this market segment. If however you were to search the guardian for references to this device you would almost come to the conclusion that it does not exist. The same goes for a number of other devices. For example the new google tablet is getting rave reviews elsewhere with some sites claiming it is the best tablet in the world but it has barely been mentioned on the guardian tech site.

    Attempts over time to imply a balanced approach have become a meme for commenters. For example when asked why no review of, what turned out to be phenomenally successful, galaxy note has appeared we were told it was in a drawer ready to be reviewed once all the ‘more important’ stories had been dealt with. As you can probably guess no review ever appeared. Recently we has Charles say that there was no precoverage of a google meeting because he prefered to deal in news rather than speculation, a statement followed by a industrial scale conveyor belt worth of speculative articles about the iPhone, iOs, iWatch and anything else you can stick an i in front of.

    Moderation on the guardian tech pages has become increasingly extreme, with no one being able to broach even the slightest criticism. Post that appear not to break the community rules disappear completely and users are banned for trivial reasons.

    Unlike last time I hope you do not rely on any count of the number of time iPhone and Android are used in the tech section as such a blunt instrument in a pointless comparison unless you take into account the context in which the words are used.

    Yours, in the hope that the Guardian tech section can return to a even coverage of tech rather than the ripleys believe it or not type show it has descended into.

  18. Pingback: An alternative forum for tech discussion? | Booted Out

  19. rory kenneally says:

    you´ll definately be missed beardy. i always enjoyed your comments, courteous, well informed and funny. a great loss to the btl community
    ponk2k

  20. Johng46 says:

    Enjoyed studying this, very good stuff, regards . A man may learn wisdom even from a foe. by Aristophanes. ddafabcbbkbe

Leave a comment